Blog challenge · Personal · text post

Day Six : What are you afraid of?

Day6

 

When I started thinking about today’s prompt, I realised that there are over 100 different types of ‘fear’ that we can all have. They range from Arachnophobia, being the fear of Spiders, to Hippotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia, being the fear of long words! It is rather incredible the amount of different fears there is out there, look some up!

I am afraid of a few things:

  • Acrophobia, the fear of Heights. I haven’t always had this fear, however, as I started to get into my teenage years, going up high and having to look down has me all nervous and sweaty. I remember going up the Eiffel Tower on a school trip to France and literally hugging the middle of it, even though the top part of it’s mesh so you cannot lean out.
  • Enochlophobia, the fear of Crowds. This one is recent for me since I suffered with depression, and now, anxiety. I am still not too sure what I fear about being in a crowded place or within a crowd of people. I think it is because everyone is stood so close to you, and you have to weave in and out of people to get to where you want to go.
  • Atychiphobia, the fear of Failure. I have always been a perfectionist and even in my adult life, I am constantly worrying I will fail at something. I am a Virgo, and that streak, if you do believe in horoscopes as I do, is there as a warning sign; how I got through University I do not know!

I have been slowly working on my fears over the last couple of years, but it is very hard to do. I guess our brains just see these things as a warning sign, to panic over them even if they aren’t physically going to hurt us. Strange how the mind and body work.

Do you have a fear or phobia? Why don’t you comment below and share it with me!

For more of my 30-day challenges, please look in the blog challenge category.
You can also find me on Instagram, Twitter & Pinterest.

xXx

Leave a Reply

